Step 06 of 35 · stage 1, checks before you pay
Encumbrance certificate at the office
Certifies the charges, mortgages and other encumbrances registered against the property. This is the document that shows whether the land is already mortgaged.
- Official wording
- Obtain an Encumbrance Certificate (EC) from the Sub-Registrar office (offline)
- Where you go
- Sub-Registrar and Garvi
- Online or in person
- Offline
- What it costs
- Rs. 100 (source states, in Gujarati: 'જેની ફી 100 રૂપિયા છે')
- How long
- No timing stated
- Record id
- GJ-DD-06, step 06 of 35
Where you go, and how
Sub-Registrar office; Inspector General of Registration and Superintendent of Stamps, Government of Gujarat
Mode: Offline
This office handles 10 of the 35 steps in the register. What else it does, and what it charges.
What to have with you
Not stated The government source for this step does not publish a list of documents. That absence is recorded in the register rather than filled in from an unofficial checklist, so treat any list you are handed elsewhere as somebody's practice rather than as a rule. The document lists that do exist are collected on one page.
The form you fill in
No form named The official source describes the application but does not give it a number, which is recorded as a declared gap rather than guessed at. Every form the register does name is indexed separately.
What it costs
Quoted from the government source, in its own words:
Rs. 100 (source states, in Gujarati: 'જેની ફી 100 રૂપિયા છે')
No part of this figure has been rounded, converted or updated by us. If the department has revised it since 4 August 2026, the correction address is in the footer. Every published fee in the register sits on one page.
How long it takes
No timing stated. A department that does not publish a service standard cannot be held to one, which is worth knowing before you plan around a date.
Registration department SLA / turnaround times for issuing a certified copy, Index-2, EC or a completed registration are NOT PUBLISHED in any source examined. All stated_timeline values for those steps are null; only the statutory presentation window (four months) and the statutory deemed-approval periods are recorded.
What to watch out for
The register keeps a note against this step. It is the part most people find out too late, so it is printed in full rather than summarised.
Form number for the offline EC application is NOT stated in the source. Recorded as null.
The law behind it
The Registration Act, 1908
Where this came from, and what comes next
Citation: gARVI_FAQ.pdf page 4, section XIII 'ENCUMBRANCE CERTIFICATE'
Government page: https://garvi.gujarat.gov.in/
Value date: Undated departmental citizen charter; captured 2026-08-04
Local file read: gARVI_FAQ.pdf (page 4, section XIII)
Last verified: 4 August 2026
- The step before: 05. Search the Sub-Registrar registers
- The step after: 07. Encumbrance certificate online
- This stage: Checks before you pay
- All 35 steps in one table
Found something wrong here? Send the government page that corrects it to corrections@dholera.support and the register is changed at the source, so the fix reaches every page at once.